Our Team

Dr. Deborah McGregor (Anishinaabe), Principal Investigator, holds the Canadian Research Chair in Indigenous Environmental Justice. She is cross appointed to Osgoode Hall Law School and Faculty of Environmental Studies (FES) at York University. Professor McGregor's research has focused on Indigenous knowledge systems and their various applications in diverse contexts including water and environmental governance, environmental justice, forest policy, and management, and sustainable development. Her research has been published in a variety of national and international journals and she has delivered numerous public and academic presentations relating to Indigenous knowledge systems, governance and sustainability. She co-edited Indigenous Peoples and Autonomy: Insights for a Global Age with Mario Blaser, Ravi De Costa, and William Coleman (2010). She is co-editor (with Alan Corbiere, Mary Ann Corbiere and Crystal Migwans) of the Anishinaabewin conference proceedings series. 

Dr. Brenda Murphy has been involved in applied resource management and social justice research throughout her career, more recently focused on Aboriginal disaster management and resilience, climate change and maple syrup production. As a former Graduate Coordinator for Social Justice and Community Engagement at Wilfred Laurier University, Dr. Murphy is both committed to, and highly experienced in innovative KMb applications. Her commitment to social justice and vast experience ensuring knowledge gained through research is mobilized to serve communities at risk will form an essential part of the research project. 

Dr. Dayna Nadine Scott is an environmental law and justice scholar cross appointed to Osgoode Hall Law School and Faculty of Environmental Studies (FES). She recently completed a SSHRC-funded research project in partnership with environmental justice activists from Aamiiwnaang First Nations which tackled the issue of chronic pollution on an First Nation community. She recently published an edited volume, Our Chemical Selves: Gender, Toxics and Environmental Health (UBC Press, 2015). Dr. Scott brings environmental law and policy analysis capacities to the team as well as commitment to ethical research processes with Indigenous communities. 

Dr. Martha Stiegman's expertise in Indigenous knowledge, rights, food sovereignty and justice, coupled with her experience in decolonizing research methods which include participatory media production and dissemination strategies, will make invaluable contributions to the Indigenous environmental justice dialogue and eventual deliverables of this project. She has, in partnership with various First Nations, been engaged for over a decade in collaborative film making and participatory video production on topics relating to treaty rights, traditional law and sustainable harvesting (e.g. with Kerry Prosper, Seeking Netukulimk - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jrk3ZI_2Dd0)


Dr. Mary Ann Corbiere, has served for over two decades in many leadership functions, including Chair of the Native Studies Department (University of Sudbury). She is an Anishinaabemowin scholar and serves as co-editor for the Anishinaabemowin series. Dr. Corbiere utilizes a community-based approach working with fluent speakers. Her research is specifically geared to revitalizing Anishinaabemowin and has considerable experience in community based language revitalization projects. Her principle research areas are Anishinaabemowin curriculum development, andragogy and lexicography. Her Anishinaabemowin-English on-line dictionary is forthcoming through the Algonquian Dictionaries and Linguistic Atlas website. Her research includes how English-Anishinaabemowin issues bear on intercultural communications. Dr. Corbiere will bring Anishinaabemowinand knowledge expertise to project. 

Ms. Nancy Deleary, an artist and community leader, serves as portfolio holder of the Lands and Environment and Culture, Language and Heritage Department in the Chippewas of Thames First Nation. A trained artist in the final stages of completing her Master of Fine Arts Degree at the Vermont College of Fine Arts, she has experiences in a variety of art mediums. Ms. Deleary has been commissioned to produce plays, exhibitions, and community art installations for over three decades. Her approach to art is intended to strengthen cultural identity and resilience. She will make invaluable contributions in this project by conceptualizing ways of representing IKS and environmental justice through arts based productions. Her contributions will aid in the ongoing process of revitalizing Indigenous forms of KMb, transmission, application and increasing the accessibility of research outputs across generations. 

Ms. Kathleen Padulo (Oneida), currently Environment Director with the Chiefs of Ontario, completed her master's thesis "Environmental Protection for a First Nation Community" involving a community-based environmental justice project involving 6 First Nation communities in the process of addressing waste management challenges. Kathleen has professional experience in policy development, capacity building and advocacy, derived from her years of working with First Nations, ENGOs and Federal or Provincial governments. 

Ms. Susan Chiblow (Anishinaabe) completed her master's thesis "Social Aspects affecting Mold Growth in First Nations Communities" at Royal Roads University. She is currently appointed as an Adjunct Member to the graduate program at FES, York University and serves as the Environment and Resource portfolio holder in her First Nation. She is currently assisting the Mississauga First Nation, in the development of the community's environmental laws and management regimes under a self-government process. She is appointed member of the national Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Sub-Committee for Species at Risk. As community scholars and environmental practitioners.